WHO WORE IT BEST?

Written by: Kat

This week I would like to address one of my least favorite fashion trends: Jumpsuits. Am I the only one who feels like the fashion world has been trying to force this terrible look on us for years? I mean, honestly, how many of you ladies open your closet and think “hm, well, jumpsuit would be appropriate for the things I have to do today.”

Forget how retro and cult-like the jumpsuit look is, lets talk practicality. You’re jumpsuiting about your day when suddenly you have to pee… Think about it. Or you spill something on the top. You going to throw a sweater over your jumpsuit?

Celebrities are really the only ones who I’ve seen pull this look off without seeming like they are trying entirely too hard. Go figure! This week’s who wore it best is really about making the best of a bad situation.

Image

Gwen Stefani: If Gwen can’t pull a look off, nobody can. Of course, she looks freaking gorgeous here, but I just can’t help but wonder if it was laundry day, or…? Why? Why this distressed shimmery garbage bag jumpsuit?? I guess that’s one way of ensuring nobody else wears the same thing as you.

Image

Rihanna: I don’t even have words. She looks like the Jolly Green Giant and Rocky the Flying Squirrel’s unwanted love child. Usually so stylish, somehow Rihanna really dropped the ball on this one. It’s a good thing she has lovely breasts and great shoes on.

Lindsey Lohan: I just… I want this to be a dress, dammit! It all looks so good until I get to the part where its pants and a top attached. Then it just looks silly! As far as jumpsuits go, this one gets a thumbs not down. LiLo looks healthy here and her body is making it work.

Jennifer Lopez: Ah, J.Lo. I’m going to actually give her credit for the jumpsuit revival. Since the late 90s, J.Lo has been rocking jumpsuits like it ain’t no thing. Here she is seen sporting what appears to be a casual jumpsuit made of some sort of velveteen. Somehow, she just makes it seem so easy and natural to walk around with your pants and shirt permanently attached. As far as jumpsuits go, J.Lo is a certified professional and I do not recommend trying this look at home.

Julie Newmar: I was tempted to give J.Lo my vote, for being a jumpsuit OG and all, but then my mother reminded me that long before J.Lo was belting up her one-piece ensembles, Cat Woman was stealthily kicking ass without worrying about the normal concerns that come with matching separates. Julie Newmar was a sexy jumpsuit ninja long before any of these other ladies were even snapping up their onesies and, in my opinion, owns this flattering, hourglass hugging look, with plenty of class to spare.

Who do you think wore it best?

Comments
One Response to “WHO WORE IT BEST?”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] month my sexy co-editor really slammed jumpsuits. I agree they are hideous but I am so in love with their cutesy slut of a little sister, rompers. […]



Leave a comment